Home AATIS Blog What is the National Skills Needs List (NSNL)?


What is the National Skills Needs List (NSNL)?

The National Skills Needs List identifies trades that are determined as experiencing a national skills shortage.

The list is based on detailed labour market research and analysis, and underpins eligibility for several payments under the Australian Apprenticeships Incentives Program.

An Australian Apprentice undertaking a Certificate III or IV qualification that leads to an occupation listed on the National Skills Needs List may be eligible to attract the following employer incentives and personal benefits:

  • Standard Incentives
  • Support for Adult Australian Apprentices
  • Rural and Regional Skills Shortage Incentive
  • Trade Support Loans

For more information about the National Skills Needs List, contact your Australian Apprenticeship Support Network (AASN) provider and visit our website Australian Apprenticeships Pathways for more information about government incentives and financial support information.